Reviews and Testimonials D-Day Tours of Normandy

D Day Tours Normandy Malcolm CLough

Reviews and Testimonials: Some kind words from D-Day Tours clients.

Some of our clients have been generous in their praise for the tours they took. It’s always good to hear that the tours are enjoyable, interesting and that I have been able to convey some sense of the scale, scope and importance of one of the greatest military operations in history. Sincere thanks to everyone for their kind words. You can also see some equally kind reviews on the D-Day Tours TripAdvisor  page.

Tripadvisor D Day Tours Normandy

 

 Testimonials:

Came to France to do the Normandy tour. Learned more from Malcolm in two days than I did in ten years at school. The accommodation was excellent and we recommend the old railway cycling track as an outdoor activity. We were privileged to avail of Alison’s cooking – and it is to be highly recommended. Both Alison and Malcolm were the perfect hosts and we can’t forget little Archie & Hendley (the dog and cat!).

Pat & Breeda Harty, Tipperary, Ireland, September 2015

Thank you so much for the excellent 2 day tour.  It was a great experience.  I had expected to see bunkers, guns, tanks, and so forth, as we did.  But I had no idea that we would be treated to the many anecdotes and stories you tell so well, like that of the extraordinary bravery and skill of the glider pilots that made it possible to seize Pegasus Bridge.  Or the stories of John Steele at Sainte-Mere-Eglise, of Lt. Richard Winters and Easy Company at Brecourt, of Lt. Col. Robert Cole, and others.  Your extensive knowledge of the heroic exploits of the men that made D-Day a success is remarkable.  That fund of knowledge combined with your passion to tell their stories made for extraordinary experience for Matt and for me, an experience that surpassed even our greatest expectations. So thank you.  And a hearty thank you to Alison too for the delightful lunches.  I feel very fortunate to have had you as a guide and would recommend you to anyone who wants to understand the events of D-Day.

Dan Borgen, Minnesota, USA, April 2015

Thank you for such an incredible day.  This was the part of our trip that we were looking forward to the most, and it turned out to be the absolute highlight of our entire week.  We truly felt like we were in a graduate level history course going to the various battlefield sights, churches, monuments, and beach landing sites with you. Having the opportunity to learn more about our great-uncle’s experience once he was dropped behind enemy lines was truly incredible, and it was absolutely awe-inspiring to visit the American cemetery where he is buried.  The personal touch that you and Alison, with her fantastic picnic lunch, added to our day was so unique.  We’re looking forward to sharing our experience with the rest of our family, especially our grandfather.

Jennifer Nelson, Houston, Texas, USA. March 2015

In Sept. 2014 my husband and I spent three wonderful days staying with the Cloughs and touring the Normandy Battlefields. The cottage, the meals, the extensive tour – all were wonderful !  Malcolm has such an extensive knowledge of the war and presents it in a professional, knowledgable, entertaining manner. We saw so many sites that wouldn’t be included on shorter tours.  This was a Christmas gift to my husband and I thought I might be bored touring so many war sites,  this was never the case.
Malcolm’s wife, Alison, provided delicious breakfasts every morning, lovely lunches to be eaten while on the tour , and grand dinners. We ate in their dining room and they made us feel like old friends rather than guests. The cottage we had was spotless and decorated with care, plus,  after Malcolm picked us up at the airport Alison had a basket with bread, cheese and other treats waiting for us.
 We have traveled to many places and this tour and the wonderful accomodations/meals are at the top of our list of 5-Star experiences.
Connie Humble, Sarasota, Florida, USA March 2015

What a wonderful day we had with you! Your knowledge was incredible and your enthusiasm was contagious. And your willingness to go at our pace displayed a level of customer service from which others could well learn. We all agreed that the day was extremely informative and enjoyable, and that we would gladly do it again with you as our guide. As Glenna (aka Grandma) said yesterday as we were re-living our day with you, “anyone who is doing a D-Day tour needs to use Malcolm”. I don’t think there is any higher praise than from an 89-yr old woman whose husband served in the war and who lived it herself. Thanks you so very much for you knowledge, enthusiasm and kindness. If you and your wife ever come to the States and decide to pass through St. Louis, Missouri, we would be happy to host you. Best wishes in your endeavors and thanks again!

Rick Harbron, St Louis, USA, October 2014

History Brought Alive

Although we were pretty ignorant about the D-Day Invasion and had no personal connection to that part of WW2, it was a subject that interested us.  So we did a detour from Cape Town, South Africa, via Normandy en route to see our family.  We spent three nights with Alison and Malcolm Clough in their lovely home in the country and Malcolm was our personal guide for 2 full days.

Malcolm’s incredible knowledge of the Invasion and his passion for the subject brought history alive for us.  We stood at inland battle sites, had the drama of capturing bridges played out, visited all five beaches heard amazing stories of heroes – some of whom survived and some of whom sadly died in active service during the Invasion. At the end of each day we visited a war cemetery which was emotional and very sobering.   Our days were long but relaxed and totally absorbing.

Alison provided a delicious picnic each day and Malcolm always found the perfect place to enjoy it.  We found this so much nicer that sitting in a restaurant and ‘wasting time’.  There was so much to hear and see.  I “found” Malcolm on the website and we reckon we hit Number One.  Thank you Malcolm for imparting your knowledge in such a relaxed manner and so patiently.  We were enthralled and give you a 5 Star rating.  Alison, thank for our lovely studio accommodation, all the goodies in the fridge and your delicious meals. We loved it all and felt very much at home with you.

Chet and Annemarie Sainsbury, Cape Town, South Africa, August 2014

Of all the things we saw and did during our adventures, two stand out.  One was kayaking in the Shetlands and the other was the time we spent with you in Normandy.  I looked forward to every day we were in your care, and you two and Peter did a marvelous job.  The accommodations were first class, the food was great, and most of all your companionship was the key to a truly wonderful experience.  Such good care you took with us to insure we had a good time.  Malcolm meeting us at the ferry. Alison’s cooking.  Peter being Peter.  What fun we had!  I couldn’t help but feel, as I looked at the other tour groups being herded along, that no one was getting the quality experience that we were having.  Malcolm and Peter’s knowledge of the events and locations was superb (I like to think I know a little about them myself), and brought to life so vividly with their narrative and stories that it stirred up emotions and feelings that surprised me with their intensity.  And how many of those other people got to retire to such a nice bit of France, and have dinner and conversation with their hosts in their home at the end of the day, and even get to see their wedding pictures?  You made us feel special, but I suppose you make everyone that crosses your threshold feel that way.
To get to walk along the beaches, stand on the bluffs, walk through the shell craters and look down from the cliffs at Pointe du Hoc!  I will never forget my moments at the American Cemetery. We thank you so much!
Michael and Heather Harper, California, USA, July 2014

“My wife and I have been stationed in Europe with the United States Army for the past three years, and we recently took a vacation to visit Paris and the Normandy Coast. We planned for a single day to visit Normandy and scheduled a tour with D-Day Tours of Normandy, which is owned and operated by Malcolm Clough. Malcolm was waiting for us at the train station and immediately after showing us to his SUV, the tour began. He was more than willing to modify our trip based on our timeline and interests, and his extreme knowledge and personal excitement regarding all aspects of the D-Day invasion made the trip so much more fulfilling for my wife and I. Malcolm was able to take us to every major site on each of the battlefields, to include the American cemetery, all the while supplementing the experience with his extensive historical knowledge. The tour lasted the entire day and included a lunch packed and prepared by his wife Alison, who operates their catering and B&B business. I highly recommend Malcolm and his tours, he was extremely helpful and willing to work with us based on our schedule. He was a fantastic guide, and the only person I would hire to take my family and friends to the D-Day battlefields.”

An extremely satisfied U.S. Army Captain. February 2014

“Malcolm, I do not really know how to express what a wonderful experience we had with you last Tuesday, the 15th.  We enjoyed and appreciated it far more than we had anticipated. You are truly excellent at what you do.  We definitely could not have chosen a better guide for us. My husband, who did not care to go to Paris, is envious of our experience at Normandy and is reading the booklet you gave us. Please convey our appreciation to Alison for the lovely picnic lunch. … We hope to have an opportunity to see you again. With much appreciation for what we learned and experienced and immense respect for those who were there.” Ann Lynch and Vickie Russell, North Carolina, USA

 

‘Thanks so much for the fantastic day. Your tour of the D-Day sights was the highlight of trip for my aunt and I. Your narrative at Omaha beach made D-Day tangible for me. The tour you gave us of the American cemetery was poignant. The visit to Pont du Hoc was spectacular. We truly appreciate the bespoke approach you took with us- accommodating all of our requests, adjusting on the fly, and giving us a full day that we will always remember and treasure’… Kate Downes, Phoenix, Arizona, USA.

“Our tour … had a definite impact on each of us. We appreciated your style, and the personal nature of the tour. I think when you told us that we were taking the same steps as the soldiers, it really made us think. Also, that the entire world might be a very different place if not for the brave soldiers on D-Day. …Thanks again, you were an important part of our holiday this year”… Kim Crawford (US Citizen), Shanghai, China.

Malcolm, … thank you again for the wonderful day we spent touring with you last week. Matthew’s father is visiting (he is the big military buff) and we can’t wait to tell him all about the places you showed us and the stories you shared. I will be writing a review praising your tour on Tripadvisor … and Alison, who made our lovely lunch. Thanks again and I truly hope we get to visit France again soon — and perhaps stay in one of your cottages!   Jessica Wong, Toronto, Canada

‘I would highly recommend Malcolm’s battlefield tours…truly fantastic. Malcolm is very knowledgeable and his explanations bring the events to life’…  Andrew Moore, Redditch, UK.

‘Many thanks again for such an enjoyable tour… James and Daniel have not stopped talking about everything they saw.  I am sure they will be telling everyone about it once they are back at school. I am sure we will be in touch again. C. Wootton, St Albans, U.K.
“We were so delighted to have Malcolm Clough as our tour guide to several of the key D-Day sites. He presented thoughtful explanations of the D-Day events. In his recounting of the events, Malcolm brought the experiences of those brave soldiers to life.  We would highly recommend Malcolm’s tour to anyone wanting a thoughtful and experienced guide to the D-Day sites and events”…  Karin Yeatts, North Carolina. USA.

‘A trip to the Normandy Beaches is a must…A sobering view of our history made even better if you avail yourself of Malc’s guiding’… Alan & Julie Evans, Sutton Coldfield, UK.

‘You have been wonderful hosts and guides. You have helped us achieve our lifetime’s ambition of exploring some of the D-Day landing sites. The food has been out of this world’…  Keith Beck, Solihull, UK.

‘Had a great time, accommodation is excellent and the food superb. Malcolm’s knowledge on 2nd World War Battlefield sites of Normandy has been impressive.’…  Steve Goult, Worcestershire, UK.

‘The accommodation was wonderful. Full of lovely little extras and thoughtful details. I was delighted to lie by the pool and leave the beach assaults to my husband’… C. O’Dwyer, Dublin, Ireland.

 

Pegasus Bridge Malcolm Clough and a small group